Job Interview Tomorrow

OK, I have a job interview tomorrow. However, it’s not as great as it sounds. It’s to be a bank teller. Apparently, they weren’t scared off by my Ph.D. (I had to put it on my app since they are running a background check and it would have come up if I lied.) So, I applied on Thursday, they called me on Friday to set up the appointment for tomorrow. I’m really not sure what I am doing.

I didn’t lie on my application or anything, and I do need a job, and I don’t think that being a bank teller would be all that bad except for one thing: standing up all day. Yes, this should have been obvious to me. But I applied on Thursday when I had a cold and wasn’t thinking clearly. I honestly didn’t expect them to respond, at least not so soon. Now I’ve got a job interview for a job that I don’t know if I can do because I don’t know if I can stand up all day long.

Why? Because I have 3 herniated disks in my back that press on my sciatic nerve when irritated. I’ve also got a bunion in my right foot. There’s a cyst in my foot that is pressing on the toe joint. I thought the doctor said something about my bones separating too, but now I’m not sure. I don’t know. I’m too young for this crap.

Apparently not, because it says online that even teenagers can get bunions. Crap.

Regardless, my foot hurts pretty often and I’m sure standing won’t help any.

So what do I do? DH says to go and at least hear them out. I’m thinking maybe there’s the possibility of a stool to sit on from time to time when they aren’t busy. I need a job, even though it’s minimum wage, and I need health insurance. I wish now that I hadn’t applied for it. I don’t know. I am so confused.

6 thoughts on “Job Interview Tomorrow

    • Thanks Summer. I don’t know what I am going to do. Many jobs require you to be on your feet all day. I’m really stuck. My low self-esteem doesn’t help me either. My therapist has a new cure for that though – chapter two of the book we are working through is all about eating right (which we already do) and exercise. Right. Exercise. With a bum foot and back. Like that’s easy. Oh well. I’ve got to do *something*. Thanks for the luck!

      • I hear ya. I can’t be on my feet all day either. I can’t even work a full job, for that matter. I am extremely lucky I have a job I can do from home and from my bed if I need to.

        Sending you thoughts and hugs

  1. I would hate for you to have a job that made you miserable. If you don’t think it will work, you know you can call and cacel. But I know that jobs are hard to come by these days. I hope that if this is too painful for you, that something else will come along soon. xx

    • OK, WordPress ate my first reply so I’ll start over…

      Thank you for your support. I don’t think I should cancel, I think I should hear what they have to say. I don’t have to take the job, and yet I do. Anything minimum wage will be the same – on my feet all day. There aren’t many employment options in this town if you don’t work for *the company* or the hospital. They had a call center job but it was closed, which is a shame because I would be good at that and I could sit down. I don’t know. We will see.

Leave a Reply

