Anticipated Fear

I am feeling overwhelmed by fear at the moment.  I have an appointment with the company doctor in the morning, and he will determine if I can go back to work or not.  I have doctor’s appointments, hospital appointments, surgery and 5 days of family obligations within the next two weeks.  Of course, I could go in and he tell me I can go back to work, then I go and they fire me.  That would certainly give me plenty of time for all of these things.  My mind is spinning in fear – I don’t know what to do or what to think.   I don’t know where my time goes.  I am constantly overwhelmed.

And maybe tomorrow is nothing.  I did sort of suggest it.  I want to be back at work because I can focus on something productive that way.  But I am afraid to go because I can not give them what they want – a complete and uninjured me. I am terrified of this upcoming gallbladder surgery and even more terrified at the idea of having my arm operated upon.  I am supposed to learn how to control my fear tomorrow in therapy (at least my medical fears).  I can’t even write this because I don’t know where to begin nor do I know where I am going.

How does someone as intelligent, educated, and talented (supposedly) end up where I am?  And why does it seem to happen to me continually?  Is there some fundamental flaw in me?  Is it because I am bipolar?  Is it bad luck? Is it a combination of some or all of these?  Why do I keep finding myself here – at the bottom.  My house has depreciated $20k since I bought it three years ago.  According to my mortgage statement, it is worth $1000 more than what I owe on it.  (Thank you economy – figure out the damn debt ceiling crap before it goes any lower.)  I owe less than average on credit cards (~$5k), one car loan, one mortgage, two student loans and I have a respectable (albeit not generous) savings account.  So how do I keep ending up here?

OK… it’s an hour or so later than when I started this post and the Klonipin & Lyrica have kicked in.  I still feel panicked but like it is from a distance.  As if I am sitting here and the panic is attached to a string that is floating around in the wind.  It’s there, I can feel it tug at me, but it’s not controlling me.  Maybe it’s time for bed now.

 

© Manic Monday (manicmonday123). Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Anticipated Fear

  1. I understand the emotional rollercoaster your on. I get that way too. I have been so overwhelmed with fear and worry the last year. I did get fired when I went back to work after a medical leave. My regular dr. put me off work for 3 weeks. He was not nor had any connection to my work injury, it was for a non-related injury that happened a couple years before working for LOWES. However LOWES denied my resonable accomidation to help me work with it. I have never worked for a company like them. The harrassment and hostility I was made to work under nearly drove me to insanity. Constant pain from muscle spasms inbetween my shoulder blades and neck. All I asked for was to be allowed to sit down while I did my sales contracts and estimates. I sold floor covering and each contract could take a hour or more. I was made to stand in front of a computer and the constant holding my arms up with my head bent down to see the screen while inputting detailed measurements and materials. Three times I ended up in the ER with excrutiating pain and needed a couple of shots. When I started there I didnt know this was going to happen to me. My shoulder (collar bone) was healed for about 3 months and I was no longer taking any pain meds, but after a month of hard labor I had to get back on it. Then my dr requested the resonable accomidation and the HARASSMENT began. Then four months later I hurt myself at work. I tried to move a pallet on a cart loaded with ceramic tile with my leg. I pushed it with all my might and shoved my shinbone into my knee joint. The tile did not move at all. I worked on it for two days, it hurt so bad and was so swollen, but I was afraid to let them know I hurt myself. They hated me already, but I couldnt take it anymore.

Leave a Reply

