Coffee

I have measured out my life with coffee spoons.  ~T.S. Eliot

I didn’t like coffee until I went to Europe.  I always loved the smell, but I never liked the taste.  That all changed when I went to Holland.  I spent a week with a friend of mine in a small town south of Amsterdam.  She made coffee and I fell in love with the stuff.  I don’t like the mundane, dishwater type, and I still take issue with many of the Starbucks blends, but a good, robust cup of coffee is to me amazing.

Only Irish coffee provides in a single glass all four essential food groups:  alcohol, caffeine, sugar, and fat.  ~Alex Levine

Coffee in Europe is very different from coffee we find in the United States.  They brew it stronger and tend to drink it with less condiments.  In France, when you ask for a cup of coffee, they bring you a cup small enough to offend most Americans and there are no free refills.  They also ask you if you would like it Americanized i.e., with cream and sugar.  My husband is brave enough to drink it without either, but I confess to adding cream.  I have found, however, that a beautiful cup of coffee can be had without any sweetener at all.  (Well, excluding the cream that is.)

In Seattle you haven’t had enough coffee until you can thread a sewing machine while it’s running. ~Jeff Bezos

This may well be true.  Seattle runs on coffee.  They drink it, they eat it, they breathe it, they live it.  You can’t go two blocks without coming across a coffeehouse.  Usually it’s a Starbucks but there are other places as well.  I tried to avoid Starbucks in Seattle for the simple reason that I can have Starbucks at home.  But I don’t think I had a bad cup of coffee in the entire city.  Maybe they developed coffeehouses so that people would have somewhere to go to get out of the rain?  I don’t think I would like to live in Seattle – it’s too grey and dreary most of the time – but I wouldn’t mind visiting again just to have great coffee and possibly a glimpse of the Space Needle in sunlight.

Sleep is a symptom of caffeine deprivation.  ~Author Unknown

Many people think that decaf is an obscenity but I disagree.  First, I don’t personally notice a difference in taste.  Perhaps that just means I’m not a coffee connoisseur, but if I can’t taste the difference, it doesn’t matter.  I like what I like, end of story.  Second, decaf lets me have more coffee than I could have with caffeine.  Too much caffeine accentuates mania.  My limits are about 1-2 in a day, depending on the drink.  Not all caffeinated drinks are created equal, so these numbers can vary.  (I have a previous post on Caffeine.) Espresso contains twice as much caffeine as coffee, oz for oz, but are you going to drink 8oz of espresso?

Nescafe no es cafe. (Instant coffee is not coffee.) ~Mexican saying

I’ve also heard that bad coffee is better than no coffee.  I disagree. If I’m going to drink something for pleasure, I want it to taste good. Otherwise, I’ll just drink water.

I’ll quit coffee. It won’t be easy drinking my Bailey’s straight, but I’ll get used to it. It’ll still be the best part of waking up.  ~Megan Mullally (Will & Grace)

And so this brings me to the crux of my problem:  I haven’t had a cup of coffee in a week.  Not even decaf.  Why? Because coffee is acidic and my digestive system is just not up for that yet.  But I am craving coffee.  Or a latte.  But whatever you do, don’t give me an “Americano” – it is not, and never will be, a substitute for coffee!

The powers of a man’s mind are directly proportioned to the quantity of coffee he drinks. ~Sir James Mackintosh

Regardless of what kind of coffee you like – weak, strong, hot, cold, with or without cream and sugar – go have a cup!

 

© Manic Monday (manicmonday123). Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.   Note that the images within are not my own but are available under Creative Commons licensing.

5 thoughts on “Coffee

  1. Coffee also has antidepressant properties. So in addition to being delicious, it’s also good for those mild downswings that being bipolar can cause.

  2. I didn’t know that, James. I wonder if it is the caffeine or something else? I’ve really mixed reviews about how good (or bad) coffee is for you, and so I don’t really know what to think about it sometimes. I figure one or two cups a day won’t hurt (or help) me much one way or the other.

    Thanks for the info – it might help next time I’m feeling a little down. 🙂

  3. I still remember my very first cup of coffee, made for myself, not sipped from my mother’s cup. It was Folger’s, it was instant, and I was drinking it because I had a project to finish. This would also be my first experience with pulling an “all-nighter.” I was 14-years-old. 😉

    I much prefer chai and other teas now. Caffeine doesn’t do much to my mood state, but it does exacerbate my already severe essential tremor.

    The trades we make in life.

    On an unrelated (mostly) note, I love the way you have done this post, Monday. Your words and the quotes and the picture. Stylistically – muy, muy bueno (content is always muy, muy bueno).

  4. Thank you, Ruby. 🙂 I wanted to do something light-hearted for a change because my posts are usually emotionally charged. It took me forever to find the right quotes (or at least close to the right quotes) for what I wanted to write. Not sure I’ll be doing the whole quote thing again, but I am proud of this post.

  5. Pingback: Blog Honors | Manic Monday

Leave a Reply

