New Surgery Date

I moved up my surgery date to Nov 3rd. I re-arranged my schedule and I have friends coming to sit with me on the 4th & 5th while DH is working. I am terrified but as a friend pointed out to me maybe it is like a band-aid: you can peel it back slowly or you can rip it off. she suggested that maybe I should just rip it off quickly and get it over with. So this is what I decided to do. Rip!

Believe it or not, the evil nurse was actually nice to me when I called to reschedule. Which is good because I was dreading talking to her. But she seemed actually happy that I moved it. Go fig. Maybe I was helping her fill her scheduling quota.

Now I’ve used this surgery as an excuse to buy an iPad. Bad financial decision, good emotional decision. I’m using it to write this blog and I think it might make it possible to blog while I’m injured. Especially since I seem to be able to type one handed on it. Although I wouldn’t expect any great works of literature from me in the near future. 😉

Well, that’s my update for now. Please keep me in your thoughts on Nov 3rd.

Thank you!

4 thoughts on “New Surgery Date

  1. Rip and win! Lol!

    I’m glad everything is going well with the surgery. I really, really am. And there’s no better reward for all of your pain than retail therapy! (Sorry, but it’s soooo true.) Congrats on the new Ipad!

    I’ll be watching for updates! My thoughts are with you!

  2. I like the Band-Aid analogy. I know I don’t have your personal history, but the only thing waiting for a medical procedure, or even appointment, ever does for me is to make me anxious, impatient, and irritable (not necessarily in that order).

    Best to you, and know that you are always in my thoughts. I’ll just think a bit harder on Thursday.

    Keep us posted when you feel up to it!

  3. Thank you very much for your support Ladies! It really means a lot to me. 🙂 I discussed my past medical trauma in detail while I was preparing for my gallbladder surgery. But I realized last week that the waiting for this surgery was driving me crazy with anxiety so I needed to get it over with as soon as possible. I still have to get through a worker’s comp appointment on Wednesday, but I’m not sure he can tell me anything that I don’t already know. (That the wrist injury might be permanent.)

    I’ve been practicing using my left hand for things (this is going to get difficult really fast with the wrist injury), and I’ve been preparing for things in general: automatic toothbrush, iPad for communication, etc. I’m also blessed with friends willing to come visit with me while my husband is at work, and my hairdresser even offered to shampoo and style my hair once a week during my recovery at no charge!

    I’ll probably post a couple of times before the surgery, but I wanted to ask early so you could put me on your prayer and/or good thoughts calendar for the 3rd! 😉

    • PS: The WordPress app for the iPad doesn’t allow me to read your blogs easily and the one for the iPhone doesn’t allow me to comment (or at least I haven’t figured these functions out) so please don’t take offense if I don’t comment much over the next several weeks!

Leave a Reply

