On the Other Hand

Thank you all for the support and well wishes! I made it through the process pretty well with the least amount of PTSD yet. Either this facility is just better or it really helped that I told them in advance that I suffer from past medical trauma. The panic level was much lower and I was able to keep it under control. Had some problems but no worse than my last MRI. Close your eyes and think of some thing else. (Common advice for brides until the 1960s. 😉 – ok that be some of my husband’s sense of humor rubbing off – he gave me the title for this post. )

This nerve block on my arm is doing wonders for the pain but I can’t move my fingers. I can move my thumb just a bit but only in one direction. (Don’t worry, it’s not stuck there. It falls back to neutral.) But I expect the pain to start coming through the block soon – actually it’s already started.

I’m signing off now. I expect I’ll be lurking more than posting , but who knows? I’ve never had Percocet before. It’s supposed to be stronger than Lortab. 😉

4 thoughts on “On the Other Hand

  1. Yay! You made it through the surgery! I hope you feel better soon. I thought about you all yesterday. Maybe it helped? LOL. I’m so happy for you that it’s finally done with!

  2. I was feeling pretty good yesterday afternoon because the nerve block was still there. I had a horrible night of it and today is rough. I need to rethink my pain scale. 😦 I’ll write more when I feel better. Thanks for the support. I’m sure it helped! 🙂

  3. Percocet is stronger, in theory, but I’ve found while it works better for other types of pain, Vicodin (which in theory is weaker) is more effective for my migraines.

    Dilauded works wonders for most everything, although I need a higher dose because it doesn’t give me that nice, floaty feeling. Phentynal (sp?) is okay, but morphine is really nice. Oh, and Demerol, but only when they shoot you in the butt with it. It’s great then.

    Of course, there’s always a good, old-fashioned ice pack. People forget about these things, but 20 minutes on, 20 minutes off, and always wrapped in a towel because the cold is too intense for your skin – these have gotten me through so much pain in my life.

    I hope you’re dealing better now, and I am really glad that the whole experience was less of a trauma. 😀

Leave a Reply

