Blog Honors

This is long overdue, but I want to thank LunaSunshine for all of the wonderful honors she has bestowed upon me and my blog. Lulu, you’ve become a good friend to me, and I am grateful to have you in my life!

The Versatile Blogger: I never thought of my blog as versatile. It’s just me bitching about my life. But if I look back through my posts, I do have some valuable stuff scattered throughout and not everything is about my sometimes miserable life. Every once in a while, I try to throw in something light-hearted like coffee or geese.  So after much contemplation, I can agree to accept this award graciously.  Thank you Lulu!

So here’s seven random facts about me:

1. Puberty curled my hair.  I have no idea why I find this particular fact fascinating, but I do.  I think it’s because it shows how flexible the human body is and how it can change over time while responding to chemical changes, whether they be natural or unnatural.

2. I do not have children.  This is by choice, both mine and my husband’s.  I always knew there was something wrong with my family and I didn’t think I would make a good parent.  After my car accident, where I broke my hip, I was pretty sure I didn’t want to go through the birthing process.  As different illnesses crept up on me, I was sure I didn’t want to pass on these genetics.  I may be smart, but that didn’t seem to be enough for me to want to risk (potentially) exposing another human being to my genetic illnesses.

3. I had a hysterectomy three years ago.  I’m never having children anyway.

4. I love cats.  We have four cats and a dog. The dog is my husband’s. My pets are my children and I love them as much as I would a human.

5. I love European travel. I’ve been to England, Scotland, France, The Netherlands, and Prague. If I had my way, I would live in France, along the Loire Valley. From what I’ve experienced, French society is so much less stressful than American society. The French are very friendly people too if you approach them properly. We had more people offer to help us in Paris that we would ever have found in New York City.

6. I have a PhD in the physical sciences.  If I had it all to do over again, I’m not sure I would have traveled the same route, nor gone as far in my education as I did.  I originally wanted to be an actress when I was in high school, but I’m glad I didn’t follow that path.

7.  My husband and I met 15 years ago.  I knew when we met that he was “the one” – it took me three years to convince him of it. 😉  He’s been through the ups and downs (literally) with me, and still stayed by my side through screw-ups, job loss, and dysphoric manias.  I don’t know what I would do without him and I pray I never have to find out.

Blog for Mental Health 2012 (Challenge): I wasn’t sure about this one at first, but when I thought about it I realized that this is what I do.  I’m here to tell my story, which happens to include bipolar disorder.  I’m just like any other individual with a house and a job and a husband, but bipolar tints my glasses just a little bit differently than another individual.  I’m here to tell the world that not everyone with a mental illness lives on a street corner, talking to themselves, and pushing a shopping cart with all their worldly goods.  We come in different sizes, shapes, colors and personalities.  We might be your next door neighbor and you would never know. We could be your manager, your teacher, or your colleague. Many of us write anonymously because face it, although we can’t be stoned to death anymore, there is still plenty of stigma to go around.

Here’s the Challenge:

1.) Take the pledge by copy and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2012″.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you. (Lulu!)

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

Biography:

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder in my 30’s.  Apparently, this is quite late in life, but I was first diagnosed with major depressive disorder in my mid-20’s, except no one noticed my manic states.  I wasn’t diagnosed with anything before that because I spent seven years in an abusive relationship with no medical care.  He didn’t care much if I lived or died and neither did I – but that’s another story for another time.  Back to my diagnosis… I was off the charts manic and didn’t know it.  A friend pointed out that I might be bipolar.  Between him and my husband, they convinced me to go to the ER.  I really don’t know why other than it was a step towards getting help.  The hospital offered to keep me, but I convinced them otherwise.  You see, I had a funeral to go to and if I didn’t go I would never forgive myself.  So they gave me a few days for that but sent me to outpatient therapy, or what I like to call: “Daycare for Psychos”. I was originally diagnosed bipolar NOS (not otherwise specified) which sounds like a cop-out on the diagnosis. My current doctor said she thinks my symptoms resemble BP I more than BP II, which I discuss in my post Bipolar 1.5.  I think of my bipolar as both a blessing and a curse.  I plan to write a blog sometime in the future about my complex feelings on the subject.

Liebster Blog: Lulu, you are a kind and generous soul to nominate me for this award. As I understand it, this is a way of saying I love your blog!

As for nominating others for these awards, well, this is where it gets difficult.  I’ve been so depressed lately that I haven’t been following any blogs, not even my own.  There are so many deserving blogs, but I will pick some that I don’t think have gotten any nominations.  🙂

Disorderly Chickadee

Bipolar for Life

Hi, My name is Elizabeth and I’m an Alcoholic

Manic Muses

Now I just have to figure out how to get these cool little pictures to show up on my blog!

5 thoughts on “Blog Honors

  1. Aww you are too darned sweet to me!

    1.) My sister had pin straight hair until she had her son. I had thin hair until I had my son. It’s incredible what hormones do to people.

    2.) Admirable and wise. After everything you’ve been through, I’m not sure your body could have taken it! But then again, you’ve been through worse 🙂

    4.) I loved my kitties. One of my kitties had to go because she started acting jealous and vindictive when I was close to labor. It was to protect our kid. We know what happened to my last lovely. He was perfect. Beautiful, smart, kind. I’m sad that his life ended so abruptly.

    5.) I admire European living. I wish American would embrace those attitudes and lifestyles. Whatever. I’d love to travel to those places, and one day, I will.

    6.) I think everyone wanted to be a musician, actress, dancer, artist, comedian, etc at some point in their life. I went through that phase, along with wanting to be a lawyer, architect, teacher, and psychologist. Guess what I ended up? Lol! I guess I was just one of those people that should have followed the dream, you know? It followed me.

    American Idol was doing tryouts just across town from my work last year. Everyone asked me why I wasn’t there. First, I was teaching summer semester! And second, I told everyone, “I’m too old. I’m past the age cutoff.” Oh well. That’s why they have “America’s Got Talent” right? Kidding! No, I don’t want a singing career. The closest I want is teaching. Maybe one of my students will have a singing career!

    7.) Men need convincing about everything. It’s not surprising! That’s why men need women.

    I think what you do is great. It is really inspiring to those that struggle to get there. I want to finish all of the school I can and some more. I want to write. You keep me aspiring to do something greater. And with your help, you have helped me face some of the most terrible and terrifying things I’ve faced yet.

    You’re right. We aren’t bag ladies. We are not destined to a life alone. We have husbands, and jobs. I have a child and aspire to make that plural. I don’t have to forgo completing my family because I have BP. We’ve graduated, probably with much distinction. We look like any other person. Today, one of my students mentioned his mother has bipolar. I was dying to tell him, but I know I can’t. It was the first time anyone mentioned any mental health topics at work!

    You are beloved. And your blog is one of my favorites for sure! Liebster is absolutely for you!

  2. Wow, thanks for the award nominations – I’m a bit floored! I’ll definitely make my follow-up post soon. As soon as I get done with my next mini-writing deadline, that is – 2 months, 1 week to dissertation defense, so I have to send some “clue the committee in” stuff around this week. 😉

    I met my husband 12 years ago and knew immediately that he was the right one. I know exactly what you mean about not knowing what you’d do without him and hoping you never have to find out. And I also didn’t get diagnosed until my 30’s when the mania became something that couldn’t be ignored anymore.

    I also love real, good coffee. And became a huge snob about it after spending a month in France – not that I hadn’t already discovered the delights of real coffee in Russia, Italy, Sweden, etc, but I still made French press coffee and didn’t decide espresso was the *only* way to go until extended exposure to the good stuff. The idea of drinking decaf just so I could drink more of it is in fact pretty tempting…

    Geese, on the other hand – there are many kinds, but of the wild species, I’ve only seen Canada geese and Snow geese. Someday hopefully I’ll see at least one Greater white-fronted goose, Brant, Cackling goose, Ross’s goose, Pink-footed goose, Barnacle goose, Emperor goose, Taiga bean-goose, and Tundra bean-goose. And those are just the North American geese!

    • Chickadee, your blog definitely deserves the awards! I’ve only been reading a short while, but I am hooked! The best coffees the I have ever had were in France and The Netherlands. I didn’t even like coffee until I went to The Netherlands. In France, I thought I could drink it by the gallon – but too much caffeine and too expensive. 😦

      As for geese… you are welcome to come see our attack geese anytime. 😉

  3. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award « Disorderly Chickadee

  4. Pingback: Me, Versatile Blogger « Disorderly Chickadee

Leave a Reply

