Bifocals and other updates

I picked up my first pair of bifocals yesterday. Bifocals suck. In addition to the fact that I can’t seem to see anything in the mid-range, this is just another sign of the aging process. Another reminder of how old I am getting. I got the progressive lenses because yes, I am vain enough to not want people to know my age. I’ve always been fortunate that I don’t look my age and I’d like to keep it that way. This doesn’t change the fact that my body is falling apart and has been for the past few years.

As for my arm, it has been slowly getting better. I can now do the necessary 30 reps with a 2lb weight – which is easier with my right hand than my left. I tried pushing a shopping cart, which was not too bad but it was empty at the time. I tried pumping gas, but that didn’t work out so well. Doc says I need more time. He’s sending me back to work with work restrictions. I have to call HR today and make an appointment with the company physician for clearance. Then we have to find out if management will take me with these restrictions. The restrictions aren’t as bad as before so maybe. Some part of me doesn’t want to go back to work. I dread dealing with these people and I’m pretty sure I won’t be doing what I used to do, which is what I am most qualified for, very good at, and really enjoy. But does it matter so long as I have a decent paycheck and health insurance?

I still have to call a lawyer before I go back to work.  I need to know my rights in case they do fire me.  I can’t believe I have to think like this.  But at least we have 6 months of savings to see us through.  No more than that so the pressure is on.

My kitchen remodel starts next week. I am very excited and nervous about it. I talked it over with DH – should we do this given my precarious employment state? Well, yes. If I lose my job, the remodel will help sell the house. If I don’t, then we have a nice kitchen. I guess this is a win-win situation except for the $5k it will cost (without painting). We are getting such good deals (builder prices) on lighting and other parts, that we have decided to go ahead and get lighting for the eat-in kitchen (planned), living room, and entryway.  We need an electrician to fix the short on the outside of the house, so we may as well do lights too.  We need to get the termite problem taken care of, then there is only the bathroom to plan for next year.

Well, that’s about all for now folks.  Wish me luck!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Bifocals and other updates

  1. Lots and lots of luck: with your arm, with accepting your bifocals, and most especially with work and HR. I’m glad that you’re consulting with a lawyer, I hope it doesn’t come to that, but better to know where you stand, just in case.

    And I really hope the remodel goes smoothly. It sounds like it will be great. However, I know how much that kind of stuff can throw me off. I hope that you are better at handling it than I am. 😉

Leave a Reply

