Remodeling: Day 3

OK, I started this post this morning when I was tired, frustrated, and had just dropped the kitties off at the kennel.  Things have changed dramatically since then, so I am re-writing this now that I am calmer and some things have been resolved.  The problem we have been having is with tile.  Because the counters are going to be custom and unique works of art, we have to pick tile to go with the counters or at least what the counters will be most like. We went to the local tile store yesterday, and while they have a huge selection, it’s actually difficult to find something that works. Marble would have been $9/ sq. ft.  The travertine was nice and would have gone but they only make it in 4×4.  They had some larger sizes but not in the same color.  Doing 4×4 tiles would have made everything infinitely more complicated but I was determined because I don’t like the look of the larger tile.  DH & I were fighting over tile with both of us getting very frustrated and upset.  We took a break, took the dog to the dog park and ate lunch.  Tempers receded.

There’s no Home Depot in this town, and the local tile store has a buy by the box and no-returns policy.  They also have to order most things.  So we ended up back at Lowe’s.  We lucked out in that one of the flooring experts helped us pick out grout, tile, and even design our tile layout.  Best of all, our tile guys happened to come by Lowe’s while we were working out the design and joined in the discussion.  The lady at Lowe’s had taken a multi-tile background piece that had been torn and she cut it for us so we could actually see the layout.  Then the tile guys were there to see it too – how fortunate!  🙂

New tile layout

(Sorry for the crooked picture.)

They make a 12×12 version of the tile as well that we can use in the living room.  It will tie the two rooms together subtly, which is nice because it’s sort of an open-concept design.  (I can watch TV while doing dishes, for example.) So finally we agree on a tile!  Thank goodness because I am SO sick of this decision making crap.

The workman made some headway on the countertops and hearth.  He had to spend a lot of time laying down plastic and cardboard to protect everything.  But I would rather have them do that than to spill on my current carpet or tile.  These guys are good – they even clean up after themselves!  Cross your fingers that this tile business is behind us (except for writing the check) and we just have to have faith that the rest of it will work out as planned.  I cannot wait to see the finished product!

The most heart-breaking thing today was taking the cats to the kennel.  We had forgotten Goldie’s medicine, so we had to stop back there later in the day.  Saxon was just sitting in his kennel, cowering on the ledge (built-in loft).  He looked so wretched, staring out the window at me.  It broke my heart.  I sent a straw in for him to play with, but I doubt he will. (He loves straws.)  The kennel gave the cats deluxe accommodations: double rooms and cat beds.  In part because Princess was sleeping in her litter box.  (They use shredded paper for the litter boxes.  Never seen that before.)

That pretty much sums up today.  Going out to have dinner soon – we can’t cook anymore (no stove & no pots/pans/dishes/etc.)  It’s going to be a long week in the food department.  It’s going to be a long week, period.  I can’t wait until I have my kitchen back, and more importantly, my kitties home again.

2 thoughts on “Remodeling: Day 3

  1. I couldn’t handle a remodeling ordeal. I have never been one who was into it enough to put any effort in it. Back whe nI was married, my husband did that stuff, inside and outside. So sad to think about the kitties ;-(

  2. The tile is gorgeous! I’m glad the decision making is done. I’m not very decisive either. Permanent decisions that don’t have much to do with the way of tattoos or piercings are so difficult for me.

    But, you have a great eye and lovely taste. I can’t wait to see it when it’s done!!!

Leave a Reply

