Remodeling: The Final Days

OK, so I haven’t been keeping up with the blog over the past couple of days.  It’s been pretty uneventful since I got the wretched plumber out of my house.  I did call my contractor and tell him about the problems I had with the plumber and essentially, I got the plumber fired.  He won’t be working for my contractor ever again.  Apparently, it’s hard to find good plumbers in this town.

The tile is in, the grout is done and sealed.  Our tile guy was awesome.  Turns out I know his brother from work.  Weird, eh?  It cost me a little extra because the tile guy couldn’t do what he wanted to do to finish the fireplace.  He basically told me me options: He would do what we originally planned if I wanted it, but he said it would look just as bad as before, or we could get this “pencil” tile, but it was expensive.  He offered to go pick up some samples, but instead I just went with him.  Lowes had three shades of this tile, but they were separated by two bins.  So I had to pick through both bins to find the middle color tiles.  He was patient while I did that, and even helped me with the colors.  He was like the anti-plumber.  Very nice and helpful and I thanked and complimented him when he was done.  He responded: thank you for that, you rarely get to hear it.

Anyway, I paid an extra $50 for the pencil tiles, but it was so worth it.  My fireplace looks amazing compared to how it looked before.  I’m posting before and after pictures below.  I am so happy with my remodel.  Now I get to pay the bills. 😦  Oh, and the electrician next week.  Then it will be complete.  Complete! Complete! Complete! 🙂 I have been waiting for this moment for nearly four years (when we moved in).  I just take too many vacations. 😉

The kitchen has the same tile in a smaller size. Pictures from the kitchen to come!

This is a close-up of the tile showing the veined look.


© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Remodeling: The Final Days

  1. “It’s a small world after all!” Seriously, I live in a city where everyone is separated by like 5 degrees. And, truthfully, it’s hard to find a good plumber anywhere, I think anyway.

    It looks beautiful. Really gorgeous! Your guys did great work!

  2. Looks absolutely incredible. 😀

    I’m developing a theory about tile guys. It think that because laying tile is such an art, because you have to be able to see a greater picture and then use tiny pieces to bring it to fruition, not unlike making up your own puzzle, and because you have to be so focused and meticulous and patient, it both draws a more mellow type of personality than does other contracting work, and even further it makes a person more calm and patient, if they do it for any length of time. Just my two.

    I am so excited that (allowing for the electrician), you have your house back, better than it ever was. You can breathe out and finally have your own space once again, and you can love that space even more than before. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

