Taking a “Day Off”

Technically, one could say I’ve been taking a day off for the past 10 months.  But today, it’s from the job hunt.  I just don’t have it in me today.  DH just tells me to do one thing each day (usually I do more) but today I feel drained and depressed.  My chances of getting an internal job at this point are almost zero.  I sent my resume to my former manager (now retired) who liked me very much and is going to check around for me (inside and outside my company).  My career really went downhill once she retired.  How is it that I do so poorly with changes in management?

I’m sliding into depression again, and I don’t think medication is going to help me this time.  I’m sleeping long hours, but they aren’t restful.  I fall asleep on the couch at least once a week.  I don’t go to bed until midnight, but then we haven’t been eating dinner until 8 or even 9pm.  (Damn time change!)  I need my meds to kick in order to sleep.  I feel stressed out all the time.  I play way too many video games.  (Arm is fixed, I can play on my own now.)  DH is still having health problems, but he’s not telling me about them.  I worry about him but I don’t know what to do.  He’s a grown man, I can’t force him to go to a doctor.

Back to the job hunt topic… I don’t know where to begin.  I’ve been thinking of a career change, maybe something that doesn’t include a lab.  But who is going to hire me?  Everyone wants an experienced person unless you’re working in Walmart. (No way is that happening!)  Besides, Walmart doesn’t hire people like me.  I would be considered “overqualified” and not willing to stay with the company. Imagine that!

Went to Lowes and returned the excess tile and other parts we didn’t use from the remodel. I got $172 back.  That’s a couple weeks worth of groceries.  I can’t believe we have to pinch pennies again, and gas is upwards of $3.50 a gallon.  Which means, fewer trips to ‘the city’ and around town even though my car gets 30mpg.  I don’t know what to do anymore.  Unemployment is going to drive me insane.

Ah well, I wish I had something better to talk about so I don’t just bore and depress you all.  I’ll think of something good soon.  I have my 100th post coming up!  I have to write something special for that.  Let me put my thinking cap on…

 
© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “Taking a “Day Off”

  1. Truth be told, most everyone does poorly with changes in management. My husband’s immediate supervisor was demoted and they hired some woman from the outside. She’s not a mean or terrible person. She’s just an idiot. And she is threatened by C.S., because she knows that he could actually perform her job better. Fortunately, she has little power, and my husband’s boss wouldn’t be able to run her department without him.

    But, I can tell you about dozens of times there was a change in regime and my husband was canned. One time, his boss moved into a different department, so there was some company restructuring. (I despise that term). A new CEO took over, and did that. Well, in three months time, the company started to go under. They were laying people off right and left everywhere. And they waited until my husband was on our honeymoon to write out that pink slip to meet him at the door with.

    The last one, before this one, his immediate boss married the VP, son of the President of the company. Yeah, you can guess what happened there.

    It’s not you. It’s them. I just wanted to make that super clear.

    And I think that if you need a day, then take a day. We all need a day from time to time, just a day off for us. That’s it. No shame.

    Gas is like $4 a gallon here. Rawr!

    I know you can make it through! Keep on chipping away. You’ve gotten through tougher, I know. And you’ve made it this far!

    BTW: Are you looking on Monster?

    • What happened is basically this: under the original management, my (then) supervisor (the narcissist) was kept in check by the manager, who really liked me. When she retired, there was no longer a balance of power and the narcissist became a tyrant. New management didn’t want to deal with him, so they just ignored him. He went about spouting lies, even about the new manager, until eventually that person retired too. (The second manager was a lousy manager anyway.) Now the group is under their third manager in 3.5 years, and this one is personal friends with the narcissist. But there is a “honeymoon phase” with the narcissist, that usually runs 3 months with any new supervisor or manager. The narcissist will praise how great the new supervisor or manager is until something ticks him off, then it’s lies and deceit. And no one ever calls him on it because they have the misguided notion that he is too valuable to the company. I talk a little about our history in 15 minutes. That story actually has a bigger conclusion, but it’s very infuriating and I won’t go into it now.

      Now that I’ve ranted, I want to say thank you for your support. It means a lot. 🙂

      • I’ve seen some pretty shady stuff like that. For instance, my husband’s upper management used to work as a grunt in the department with his old lower manager. The lower manager was promoted to her position. Both of them came up for promotion in the company as the upper manager. Both had the same experience and were hired within 3 months of each other. The lower manager got passed over, because the other woman had connections.

        Then, as soon as she had all of her friends in all the right places, she demoted the lower manager and hired some moron from the outside, who has no idea how things work. All because of an old vendetta.

        My husband came up for promotion last year, because he was the rookie that was turning heads. Usually, that’s a bad thing, but here, they recognize that as talent. It was in a completely different department on lower management. His boss sabotaged the deal, because he was too valuable. She had someone in the parent company shut it down because “that department couldn’t afford him”. Then, she gave him a consolation prize with two successive raises. Except, it doesn’t make up the salary difference between what is, and what could have been. It was the difference between 20K!

        He’s up again now in a completely different department, but not on any management level. It’s kind of lateral, but leads to new avenues. We’ll see.

        So, even in the best companies, and by no means am I trash talking his company, there is back-stabbing, favoritism, nepitism, and terrorism. No one challenges my husband’s boss. My husband doesn’t challenge or defy her. He ignores her. He is completely self-sufficient in his position. And she’s coming to resent it.

        I pose this question to the rest of the community. Where is there a place without the drama?! People come in, play nice, do their work, and go home.

Leave a Reply

