First Job Interview in Review

I’m calling this post the first job interview, but in all honesty, I hope I get this job and won’t have to apply for any others. It’s for teaching at a local university. They asked me to come in and teach a class, which I did, and I think it went pretty well. The students clapped at the end. I’m not sure what to think of that since they also clapped when I figured out the light switches. (We were doing a demo that required darkness.)

Overall, I think it went pretty well, except for one thing. They want someone who can teach upper division and graduate classes as well. I didn’t answer those questions right because a) I have low self-confidence, b) I didn’t want to impose on anyone’s current schedule, c) I never picked up on the clue that this was something they wanted and needed, otherwise, I think I might have walked out much better situated. I didn’t get the click that this was what they wanted to hear until I was driving the hour-long commute home. DH says I would sound too much like an eager puppy-dog if I tried to call or email them now to explain that yes, I would teach those classes. Ugh. I need to wait on pins and needles for the next few weeks and see what happens.

I wasn’t hypomanic either. If I had been, I may have been less hesitant and more willing to commit to those upper level courses. I should be happy that I had a stable day, but it’s screwed me in the long run! Can’t I ever win?

This second anti-psychotic seems to keep me in check better than the Geodon (or maybe it’s the combination). The stuff makes me sick to my stomach after I take it (think near dry heaves for about 30min-hr) but maybe that side effect will go away. I forget to take it every day and that seems to make a difference. I am better on days when I remembered to take it the night before.

Anyway, the most stress of the day came when I got home after having reviewed the entire day in my head during the hour-long drive home. I was so worked up that I had to take extra Klonopin and sleep on the couch. A lot of the interview was good, but the answer to this question was horrible. Stupid, stupid, stupid. How can I fix it?

Suggestions, thoughts, prayers, and hugs are welcome!


© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “First Job Interview in Review

  1. I would send a follow-up thank-you note (always good form, really) and in it, mention that you would be excited at the opportunity to teach upper-level and graduate courses. Don’t explain yourself or anything, just say that it’s something you’d be happy to do.

  2. Thank you so much DeeDee! I was already thinking of doing that, but I have trouble with the exact wording. When they asked me what I could teach, I only mentioned one class. There were leading questions like “Is that all?” but it didn’t click. It didn’t help that I was intimidated out of a class I enjoy by one of the theorists. Not a terribly helpful fellow since he started our discussion with: “I’m very busy,” and then kept re-iterating it. Everyone else I really liked, and seemed to get along with pretty well. I know I have the research skills they desperately need right now. I just hope it’s enough.

    • BTW, DeeDee, I think I patched things up as much as I could in the follow-up/thank you email. I just hope the dept chair reads it and believes it. And I hope the other candidates aren’t as good as me! 😉

  3. I can’t say that I have any pertinent suggestions, but I offer you good thoughts, prayers (this may not mean anything to you, but my patron saint, Saint Frances de Sales, is the patron saint of teachers as well, so I will send my prayers for you to him especially), positive energy, and virtual (((HUGS))).

Leave a Reply

