30 Days of Creativity: Day 6

Zebras

As you can probably tell, I am still running through my zoo photos.  I have so many good shots from that shoot that it’s difficult not to just work completely with them.  Especially since there is a “no sale” photography clause with the zoo, so I can’t put the pictures up on Etsy or anyplace like that.  I wonder if I can still enter them into contests?  Something to look into.

I started working with this zebra shot by adjusting the white balance and tweaking it as a color photo.  But then, just for the heck of it, I turned it black and white.  Zebras take on a very interesting look when shot in black and white.  You know they are black and white creatures, so when you see the image with a black and white background, it gives a whole different feel to the animal’s presence, in my opinion.  I think they stand out more as opposed to less, even if they “blend in” with the background.  What do you think?
As for the second shot, I worked with the image in both Lightroom® and Photoshop Elements®.  Most of the image manipulation was done in Lightroom®, including the split-toning (giving it that blue-grey look) and adding grain to make it look more like a film shot.  To emphasize the “film look” I used Photoshop Elements® to put a film frame around it.  It was fun and a little different, and I like the final product.

I realize I sound like an advertisement for these programs, but that is not my intention.  I wanted to share with you how I go about my editing to achieve the final look.  I am usually satisfied with my results, and photography is one of the few things that I have a little bit of self-confidence in.  I still have a lot to learn but I am slowly getting there. 🙂


© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “30 Days of Creativity: Day 6

  1. I agree that the zebras definately stand out more in black and white! Interesting. I am just now getting back into photography myself. I’m re-learning how to manipulate the Fstops and Shutterspeeds. It’s been so long since I’ve studied photography that there was no such thing as Digital Photography! LOL!

    • Learning f-stops and shutter speeds on film was probably more challenging than it is today with digital. I confess that I use Auto mode a lot just to get the shot, because I can fix so much of it in software. I know, I know, that doesn’t make me a true photographer, but in my opinion, if I don’t have the shot I can’t do anything with it. My new camera forces me to utilize manual modes if I want to control ISO, so depending on what I am shooting, I will choose shutter or aperture mode. (I also have to go manual for the HDR function to work.) I’ve never really tried to white balance outside of software either. Something I should learn, but IMHO more practical for set shoots than candid situations, and I do far less of the former than the latter. Anyway, I know enough to get by, and I learn more each time I pull out my camera. 🙂

      • Oh no I disagree! I think we are still real photographers even when we are using Auto Mode! I think it’s all in the eye, like when I was in photography in college some of the students knew how to use manual and did, but their shots were never all that great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

