Neurology Now

(Note: This blog post is also posted on A Canvas of the Minds.)

I want to share with you information on a free magazine called Neurology Now.  While its main focus is on neurological conditions such as Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS, epilepsy, stroke, brain trauma and Multiple Sclerosis, it also has featured articles on migraines, pain disorders and depression. Other topics include ADHD, Autism/Asperger’s, and Restless Legs Syndrome. This is a magazine that is free to patients and caregivers/friends/family members of patients.

I always find the articles interesting, even if they don’t directly apply to me.  My mother had Alzheimer’s disease, and I found the articles both supportive and helpful. It’s interesting to read the struggles and successes of others who are in different situations.  Their coping mechanisms for dealing with chronic diseases can become our coping mechanism for dealing with a chronic disease, even though theirs may be physical and ours may be mental. The magazine is designed for patients, so it is written with down-to-earth terms and explanations, and many of the articles involve real-life stories as inspiration.  There are even little cognitive puzzles in each magazine.

I urge you to check out their website and decide for yourself if this is something you would like to subscribe to.  I have been subscribing for years and always find something of interest in every publication.  It is released every other month, so it doesn’t fill up your mailbox.

I thought I would share this interesting resource with all of you.