30 Days of Creativity: Day 11

Bata Shoe Museum

ISO 800, 18mm, f 6.3, 1/50s

The Bata Shoe Museum is located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  This image was taken from the top floor looking down the stairwell, to the bottom floor where you see shoes scattered about.  They have a variety of unique shoes they keep in that central area for visitors to try on for fun.  I tried taking some pictures down there but the light is terrible for any shots without flash and you aren’t allowed to use flash in the museum.  So with this shot, I needed to tweek the lighting a little in order to bring out that bottom floor.  I like the image of the lady walking as it adds interest to the shot in my opinion.

However, the blank wall on the right was bothering me and I thought it needed something in order to balance the image.  So I added the title Bata Shoe Museum in the font Copperplate using Photoshop Elements®.  I like the final product.  I think it looks a little like a postcard. 😉

At the time of my visit, they had a great exhibit about shoes in the 1920s.  There were some really wild shoes during that time period, most of which could only be afforded by the rich.  I took lots of pictures (I love 1920’s period clothing) but all of the shoes were behind glass.  Unfortunately, I didn’t use a polarization filter to reduce the reflections for two reasons; first because I would have lost an f-stop of light in already dim lighting conditions, but more importantly because I didn’t think of it.  😦  So for this next image, I chose one that wouldn’t suffer as much from the lighting conditions.

ISO 400, 18mm, f 3.5, 1/10s

There are still reflections, but by turning the image black and white, I was able to accentuate the rhinestones and the style of the shoe without losing any of the color.  I made several adjustments to the exposure and added a hint of vignetting at the corners using Adobe’s Lightroom®.  These changes also helped to reduce the reflections from the glass.  Oh, and in case you are curious, the shoe in the background is gold.

If you are ever in Toronto and find yourself with a couple of hours to spare, check out the Bata Shoe Museum.  It’s a unique museum and worth a little bit of your time. 🙂

 
© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “30 Days of Creativity: Day 11

Leave a Reply

