Drive-In

We went to the local drive-in last night and saw a double feature: Brave and The Avengers. Brave was cute but not something I would deem worthy of seeing a second time. (This was our third time seeing The Avengers, which was good because by that hour I fell asleep during the last and unfortunately best parts.) But we went mainly for the experience.

I haven’t been to a drive-in since I was a kid. I vaguely recall sitting in the back seat of a car on a paved parking lot and trying to see some of the movie through the windshield. I was fairly young and don’t recall if I went with my parents or my brother and his girlfriend. My parents didn’t believe in going to movies. They thought movies were a waste of time and money so I didn’t see many, even as a teenager.

It was a beautiful night for the drive-in. The weather was warm, but not hot, and we sat on lawn chairs next to the car. A light breeze drifted by, softly kissing my skin as it passed. The picture was taken from our parking spot for Brave. Many people left before The Avengers started, so we were able to move up to a better spot between movies. Several people left during the second movie so there wasn’t a really long line to get out of the parking lot.

It was a nice evening, and I hope we will do it again. The drive-in is cheaper than a regular theater, especially if you stay for two movies. It’s a chance to be outside and take advantage of nice weather (assuming you have it) and just relax. You can bring your own drink and snacks (we didn’t because this was a spur-of the-moment decision) and just enjoy. Sometimes it’s the simple (and relatively inexpensive) things that can make for a great experience. 🙂

 
© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Drive-In

Leave a Reply

