A couple of down days

OK, I’m having a couple of down days here. Tuesday was great as I spent it with my BFF and we had loads of fun! But yesterday and today it was back to the job hunt, and that has me down a bit. There just aren’t jobs out there for me.  I’m going to a conference in August, and hopefully something there will work, but mostly I’m SOL.  I am still holding on to hope for a few of the teaching positions I’ve applied for but I’m getting nervous as August, and the school year, is fast approaching.  I realize that it’s just a numbers game and it only takes 1 success.  But what if that one success doesn’t come until after unemployment runs out?  I am half-way through unemployment, and since unemployment in my state is dropping, the tier 2 and tier 3 federal government unemployment won’t be available.  So I will be on my own.

OK, so I figured I would lower my standards and apply for any kind (within reason) of job after unemployment runs out.  I don’t need a PhD to type letters or file forms, but I have done it before.  It’s depressing work and last time led me to a suicidal ledge, but hopefully this time I can keep it together.  Hopefully, it won’t get that far.  Hopefully, I will have a job soon.  I am so over sitting at home.

I wish I could have written a novel or done something more productive during all this time off, but it was time well spent working on me.  Getting myself stable is no easy feat, and I think I should give myself some credit for it.  Even though I’m having a couple of down days, I don’t think this is going to turn into a mood episode.  I hope not.  I need to keep myself upbeat in case something good comes up.  There’s nothing worse than blowing a job interview because you are depressed.  (And believe me, I’ve done this several times before.)

Another thing that has me a bit down is my schizoaffective niece – Persephone.

She called me in a panic yesterday and asked me to co-sign on an apartment so she would have someplace to live.  I told her I had to discuss it with DH first.  She said she would call me back.  That was 12:30 yesterday afternoon.  I’ve not heard from her since.  When she does call back, I will have to tell her that I just can’t be a co-signer.  First, I don’t have a job, so I wouldn’t qualify because I have no income.  I think she would understand that.  But on a more personal level, even if I could qualify, this just isn’t something I could do right now.  I can’t make that kind of financial commitment to someone else when I am struggling to keep my own head above water.  Co-signing on a lease makes you liable for everything that other person does – if they trash the place, you are responsible, if they default or get evicted, it shows up on your credit score.  No, I can’t take that kind of risk.  She is un-medicated, unstable, and I know nothing about her boyfriend other than he appears to be irresponsible.  If I was working and making a $120k a year, I would probably do it.  But not now, not in this situation.

So I am upset with her – she only calls me when she wants something.  She isn’t going to see a doctor for either her mental or physical health.  She is acting irresponsible (not surprising since she is a manic state), and spending money on geckos that they don’t know if they can take care of.  They had one month of free rent, but instead of using that month to find their next place to live, they spent it having fun.  There’s nothing wrong with fun, but you have to take care of the real world too.  (I’m one to talk, but we aren’t talking about me right now.)  So instead, they paid for a week in a hotel while they look for a place to live.  Then I get a panicked phone call and now nothing.  She’s 24, in love, in a manic state with schizophrenic hallucinations.

It is so frustrating when you watch someone you love throw their life away on partying and bad relationships.  She had such a promising future when she graduated community college, but then she took a year off, and now she is in a mess.  She had been stable on medications for nearly 10 years, but she got sick and tired of the side effects and the fact that she couldn’t go out drinking while taking them.  So she stopped taking her meds.  First the Lithium, then the Seroquel.  She is allergic to Lamictal and Trileptal, but doesn’t keep very good medical records so she doesn’t know what she has tried and what she hasn’t, or what makes her sick and what doesn’t.  “I’ve tried everything,” she said.  I know that feeling, but it’s probably not true.  I don’t know.  There’s nothing I can do to help her.  I don’t like feeling helpless.

And I think that is the reason for my melancholy.  I feel helpless.  I feel helpless to help my niece.  I feel helpless in the job hunt.  Now that I’ve identified the problem, I can work on it.

 
© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “A couple of down days

  1. You talk about her throwing her life away on partying… but I remember when I was younger and used to go clubbing in London every weekend, partying was EXTREMELY important to me. In fact, for a while, it was my Religion…

    … yeah and it seems really STUPID even to mention it now. Now that I’m 40 and past it… 😦

    😉

    • She took a year off from college in order to save money for school, but instead she drank and danced it all away. Now she is stuck financially for school, and she has thousands of dollars of credit card debt. 😦 I just want her to succeed, and I know it’s really hard for her, but drinking and partying just don’t mix with mental health meds. I can’t understand why she would choose drinking over stability. (I’ve never been much of a drinker, and I hate bars, so it is difficult for me to identify with her partying desires.)

  2. When I went to uni aged 19 I fell into a pretty intense depression almost immediately and went on being depressed for another 2 or 3 years (depending when you decide mildly depressed is “well). I messed the whole thing up big time. Thanks to an understanding GP I got some help and support. The psychiatrists I saw didn’t really do any good. They just prescribed pills that disagreed with me ~ making me hallucinate, making me sleep so deeply I could barely get to seminars the next morning… In the end this doctor was writing medical certificates signing me off for an entire semester at a time (and I wasn’t even asking for this and certainly wasn’t putting on any sort of act to get sympathy). In the end it was just a nightmare.

    I agree, if a person is to be well, they need to take the meds as prescribed and heavy drinking and drug-taking… ESPECIALLY the kind of drugs that appeal to students ~ ecstasy, mushrooms etc ~ are just a no-no. The drug-taking I did in my late teens/early 20s messed up my mental health more than anything. I had years of weird symptoms that appeared off and on ~ and I knew it wasn’t “just depression” ~ or depression with psychotic features. Eventually aged 38 I got diagnosed with schizoaffective bipolar. Finally I feel I have an explanation for it all… But I wasted so many years, and you’re right the partying is bad. Those drugs are messing up precisely the same neurotransmitters antidepressants and antipsychotics are trying to put right. The only non-drug cure for bipolar I’ve ever heard (that sounds convincing) is basically a lifestyle of temperance and taking the middle way. Avoiding stress and all kinds of extremes. And eating an organic healthy diet. Very boring for a young person especially ~ but oh so true! 😉 🙂

    • She is on a big marijuana kick right now. She thinks it cures her bipolar. She also likes to drink, which I know makes me depressed for two or three days afterwards. Since she was on Lithium and drinking dehydrates you, you really can’t do both. She is having severe allergic reactions to mood stabilizers (lamictal, trileptal) but Seroquel works well on her. I know it’s tough to tell a young person that partying is bad for her, but I think she is slowly learning that herself. The biggest thing is now she doesn’t want to feel medicated, so she thinks she can control her illness through sheer willpower. And pot. 😦

Leave a Reply

