Skype Interview in Review

I had my first Skype interview yesterday.  It was kind of odd – very strange medium for an interview.  But I dressed the part even though my office is one of the hottest rooms in the house, despite air conditioning. (By the end of it, my cami was soaked!) We cleaned up and decorated the office so it would look nice for the interview.  I didn’t want them to see how messy I am!  I had to take my glasses off too because otherwise there would be too much glare for them to see my face.

I think the interview went well.  I hope so.  I am really interested in this position, maybe even more so than the phone interview I did for another college.  This place has more interesting research programs.  I still don’t know what the pay is but it’s poor practice to ask in an interview.  The position is on a yearly contract basis, so there is a bit of uncertainty there, but at least I don’t have to contend with the stress of tenure.  I also don’t get the security of tenure. 😦

Overall, I think it went well.  You can get a better sense of people in a Skype interview than via a phone interview.  They said I would know something within 48 hours.  I am so nervous!  I have a good feeling about this school, but I can’t rely on any Jedi-like senses for determining success or failure.  I think this school was more interested in me than the other one, so I hope that they invite me for a in-person interview or even just hire me outright!  (Wouldn’t that be cool?)  I think I am going to need some Klonopin to get me through the next day and a half.  Especially if it takes longer than 48 hours.  Universities move slow.

If anyone can spare some luck, I could use it!  🙂


© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

9 thoughts on “Skype Interview in Review

  1. Good luck, all appendages crossed. Skype-interviewing would be strange, especially dressing for the interview – pants optional! .. Do you mind me asking what subjects you teach?

    • I wore pants. Dress pants even. It boosts the confidence to be well dressed. 🙂 I don’t like to disclose what I teach, but I will tell you that it is in the sciences.

      Thanks for the support! 🙂

    • It was an interesting experience. I don’t know if they will be doing face-to-face interviews as well or not. I suspect not from the way the reply email was structured. (No response yet except that they are in the process of making a decision.)

      Thanks for the good wishes!

    • I guess it’s the way of the future, huh? It’s cheaper than flying candidates out for interviews, but how much of a sense can you get from 30 mins of virtual contact? It was better than a phone interview, I will say that. You can read a little body language. It’s difficult to remember to talk to the camera instead of talking to the screen. It feels awkward. I did try to do it as much as possible, but it felt more natural to look at the screen when someone was talking to me. When I answered questions, I looked at the camera. I guess I can just hope for the best!

  2. Pingback: The Waiting Game | Manic Monday

  3. Pingback: Missed the Mark | Manic Monday

  4. Getting feedback on how you perform in an interview situation when under pressure is invaluable. Making mistakes is natural and we all do it, but it is much better if you can get this out of the way before the day of your interview.

Leave a Reply

