The Waiting Game

We’ve all been there. There is something that you are expecting news on and you just have to wait and chew on your fingernails until you hear it: good or bad. I am currently playing the waiting game with two colleges.  One I am losing hope on, the other had told me 48 hours from the Skype interview.  Well, the 48 hours came up and they sent me an email saying that I had nice letters of recommendation and they were in the process of making their decision.  You just want to scream: Pick me! Pick me!  Or a Jedi-mind trick: this is the person for the job.  You don’t need any other applicants.  Everyone I met on that interview was so nice, I want to go there really badly now.  I hope they pick me, but if they don’t, I hope it doesn’t devastate me.

In the meantime, I still have to search for jobs in order to qualify for unemployment.  It’s so difficult.  There’s just nothing I qualify for.  And what I do qualify for, I don’t want.  (Picky, aren’t I?)  Beggars can’t be choosy. I’m not quite to the begging stage yet.  I just feel tired and stressed out over this job situation.  I don’t like being unemployed.  I didn’t like being out on disability either. I want to work.  I want to teach.  I want that job I Skyped for.  My skills fit so well with their research and but the job would be primarily teaching.  (Teaching labs mostly, but you can’t have everything.) The real downside is that it is a yearly contractual thing and not tenure track.  Well, maybe I would do better if I don’t have to worry about tenure.  It’s still a year to year thing, so it does lack a little sense of permanence.  Can’t I just have a forever home and a forever job?  Is that asking so much?  In this economy, probably yes.

I think a lot of colleges are going away from the tenure track positions and more towards the lecturer (yearly) positions.  It’s probably a cost-saving measure as I’m sure they don’t pay lecturers quite as much as they do tenure track.  And of course, there’s no tenure to contend with, so if management changes and they don’t want you anymore, out you go.  It sucks, but it’s true.  And since it’s contract, they don’t pay for unemployment.  You simply are not renewed.  Buh-bye.

I am still crossing my fingers, and hoping and wishing for this job.  I think it’s a great fit.  I hope they do too.

 

9 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. I’m crossing my fingers and wishing you luck and sending good vibes and saying a prayer. Waiting is awful, but at least they were in contact with you after the 48 hours. That’s got to be a good sign.

    Love and hugs to you ~

    • They are a nice bunch there so I really hope I get the job. Their reply to my thank you email was positive. They said it was their pleasure to interview me! I am starting to second guess myself though, maybe I didn’t make research enough of a priority or maybe I shouldn’t have said X or I should have emphasized Y or whatnot. So much second guessing. I did my best at the time and now it’s que sera sera.

  2. I think all the professorial positions at the community college I work at are all contract-based. I haven’t heard of them actually not renewing anyone’s contract, though. I think they’re pretty involved with keeping the place functioning, so that might be why.

  3. My fingers are crossed for you! Getting through to the last interview is pretty darn good – at that point they’re just checking for how well they think you’ll fit in (compared to one or two other people, usually). I really hope you get the job!

  4. Pingback: Missed the Mark | Manic Monday

Leave a Reply

