Shooting

What a wonderful feeling it is to shoot a gun. It’s empowering. I can never own a gun because I’m bipolar, but that doesn’t mean I can’t shoot one under safe and controlled conditions.

I went shooting with some friends last weekend. It was fun. More fun than I remembered. We shot out on a ranch with 6 acres where the nearest neighbor is a 5 min walk. I shot a 45, a 22, and a rifle with a scope. Shot up a dog food can, a metal target and an old bowling pin. I even hit sometimes. 😉

I didn’t even think about the conference or what was coming up. I did at one point, try to envision Dr. Bastard’s face but after a few shots I realized I just didn’t care. I didn’t want him trespassing on my fun. Am I angry about the things he did? Yes. But he is a pathetic little man (therapist says so) and as such he doesn’t deserve my time. Not even worth the effort it takes to stay angry. And certainly it’s not worth letting him interfere with my fun.

So down with the dog food can and bowling pin! I don’t need to imagine anyone’s face. I don’t have that much anger in me. I’m trying to live in the moment and learn from the past. Not let the past dictate the present. I need to enjoy my fun without pathetic little people living in the back of my mind. So I’m kicking them out!

Let’s go forward!

(c) Manic Monday 2012

5 thoughts on “Shooting

Leave a Reply

