Never Heard Back

I know some of you were waiting to hear how that job interview turned out. Well, guess what? They never told me. Anything. Since classes started yesterday and I am still 1400 miles away, I am guessing that I didn’t get the job. A friend of mine said it was ‘tacky’ of them not to get back to me. Whatever. I don’t think I’d want to work at a place that disorganized and inconsiderate.

And so here I sit, wondering where to go next.

I wonder what jobs are available for an intelligent, over-educated, opinionated, middle-aged woman. Yes, I have to confess that I am middle-aged now, and wondering if things will ever get crossed off my bucket list. (I still want to go to Scotland and New Zealand, and dozens of other places.) If only I hadn’t screwed up this last job with my 4 weeks of vacation and $120k paycheck. But my mental health is much better by not working there. So the real question is: what is the price of mental health?

Oh, now that’s a topic that should be a blog post all by itself.

Bucket-list is another blog topic too.

Guess I’m just brainstorming now. Wait, that’s out of fashion. Oh well.

My left arm is bothering me today. I’ve got a dull ache in my shoulder and down the arm, with tingling in the hand. No, it’s not a heart attack. At least, not very likely. I’ve been to the ER on several occasions under similar circumstances and my heart is fine. Stress test is fine. What’s not fine is the damn neuropathy and ‘probable’ MS. It could also be that my shoulder is so cramped up from stress and what have you that it’s putting pressure on a nerve. That’s what it feels the most like. I wish I could afford to go back to my massage therapist!

Blah. My life is still boring, that’s why I haven’t written anything. I did make a couple of cute cards so I’ll post those with a 30 days of creativity post. Soon. No, really, soon.

So what should I talk about? I’m really doing a poor job of creating a post today. I’m all rambley and stuff. Brainstorming. That’s it. It may not be cool anymore but I still like it.

Any ideas out there as to what I should write about? My life is pretty dull. 😦

And my arm hurts. Bummer.


© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

20 thoughts on “Never Heard Back

  1. Screw anyone who says brainstorming isnt cool! I do it all the time 😉 And you’re right, you don’t want to work for a place that operates like that. Your question about the price of mental health…whoa. Definitely a topic.

  2. Yeah I have been wondering what happened. It really is unprofessional to not send you a letter or something to tell you that they filled the position. Maybe something better is on it’s way 😉

    • I hope so. I wasn’t super excited about the job, except that the location was perfect for DH & I – lots of schools for him to choose from for graduate work and teaching. I really liked the department chair, but I wasn’t as keen on the other faculty members on the committee. I just didn’t get to meet most of the faculty and who I work with is very important to me. We’ll see what happens next. 🙂

  3. Very unprofessional. Very. So many companies are forgetting common etiquette when hiring. They think the state of the economy and number of applicants excuses them from good manners. But – if an applicant forgets to dot one ‘i,’ well well…. It sucks but you’re right. Their level of disorganization and lack of professionalism isn’t something you need to subject yourself to.

    And – yes – starting a thread on the cost of being mentally ill is something I’d love to see.

    (BTW, I’ve had the same problem with my shoulder / arm. It all stemmed from a neck injury putting pressure on a nerve. I didn’t opt for surgery, just rest, and it did get better. Is your birthday coming? Maybe you can ask for a trip to the massage therapist 🙂 Feel better soon!)

    • The whole place must be disorganized. The department secretary took three days to answer my email about reimbursement. Now she’s emailed me asking if I have a receipt for a flight change that I know nothing about. She’s the one who did the booking, shouldn’t she have it? I am thoroughly disappointed with this school.

      Actually my birthday is coming up next month. My dad usually sends me a check. Maybe I can splurge a little and get a massage. 🙂

  4. I agree with the consensus. It was unprofessional, rude,and ill-mannered. I hope that you feel better soon, and for what it’s worth, I enjoy reading what you have to say very much.

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Creativity: Day 16 | Manic Monday

  6. Pingback: Slipping Gears | Manic Monday

Leave a Reply

