So long to Snoballs

As you may have heard on the news, Hostess is closing it’s factory doors. No more Twinkies, HoHos, donettes, cupcakes, or most importantly (to me) Snoballs. I love Snoballs. They are my feel good food. When life really gets me down, I can always have a Snoball and it feels a little bit better for a few minutes.

Snoballs are probably not the most popular of the Hostess line, so there is no guarantee that they will be picked up by another manufacturer. Besides, who else could create such a concoction? Cream-filled chocolate cake wrapped in a layer of marshmallow and sprinkled with coconut. It’s hard to stay depressed when faced with a Snoball. Especially a pink one.

Look at the layers of yummy goodness!

So when I found out last week that Hostess was going out of business, I went out a picked up a few supplies. I’m not a connoisseur of Hostess products, but I like them. You know what you are getting when you eat one, and most importantly, you know where you can get them and that they will always be there. Well, they won’t always be there anymore. I had to stock up.

My husband picked up a couple of boxes of Twinkies (which I hate personally) and we got a couple of boxes of cupcakes between us, but I had to get my Snoballs. I raided the Walmart. I got 8 packages of Snoballs, sixteen cakes in all, and only stopped there because the price was getting steep. But you can freeze your favorite Hostess treat if you take it out of the package. (Did you know that? I didn’t or I would have bought more!)

So I am sad to say goodbye to this tasty treat that is part cake and part candy.  This cake that lifts me up just a little bit when I want to cry.  Snoballs are a treat, not an everyday food.  Once my stash of 7 packages (as of this writing) are gone, they are gone forever.  I think I want to cry now.

To all the bakery companies out there… please pick up the Snoball recipe!  I need my depression treat!

 

© Manic Monday (manicmonday123) 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Manic Monday (manicmonday123) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “So long to Snoballs

Leave a Reply

