The 5 minute interview

I swear it wasn’t any longer than 5-10min.  They asked me a few questions… why I left where and what the most recent jobs I’ve done have been and why I wanted to work for them.  I think I did OK answering the questions, but I don’t think they liked me very much.  We’ll see.  They intend to make a decision within a week.  I decided that if I get the job I would just have to deal with the standing.  It’s at a branch that is 5 min from my house.  I could walk to work if I was ambitious.

Tellers work alternate Saturday mornings (no problem) and shifts that rotate either 8:45 to 5:15 or 9:45 to 6:15.  Pretty straight forward.  There’s an “upselling” catch though.  Each month the teller has a quota to get customers interested in the bank’s other products and services.  The quota increases the longer you work there.  Really?  A bank?  Oh well, a job is a job, isn’t it?

I’ve been thinking about the teaching thing.  I think I might go ahead and get my certification.  It’s going to cost some money once you include all the tests but I think it might be worth it.  If we end up moving to another state my certification may not transfer but I think it would look better than not having one at all.  It might transfer to some states too.  Who knows?  At least I would be doing something towards my future.

I don’t know what to do.  I feel lost.  I don’t think I’m going to get this bank teller position and don’t know what to do next.  Keep applying, I guess.  I’ve not heard back from many of the universities I applied to and I expected that I would have heard something by now.  I think my research plan sucks and that is what is holding me back.  I don’t know what else it could be. 

Will I ever be employable again?  I go through jobs every 3-4 years but I know others go through jobs every 3-4 months and they still get new ones.  I just want a job where I can stay.  Go to work, go home, go on vacation.  Done.  I wish I hadn’t screwed up this last job.  Oh well. Done deal.  We must carry on.

Anyone know how to get a freakin job??!!!!?!?!?

2 thoughts on “The 5 minute interview

  1. Pingback: Turned Down | Manic Monday

Leave a Reply

